WWPK – Witwen-, Waisen- und Pensionskasse der Professorinnen und Professoren der UZH

The WWPK is the pension fund for UZH professors who were appointed prior to 16 April 1989. They are subject to the old Ruhegehaltsverordnung ordinance governing pensions for professors at UZH.

The WWPK was founded as a cooperative in 1901 by the professors at UZH. It has had the legal form of a foundation since 1 January 2013. Furthermore, the WWPK has been a closed fund since 1 February 2017. It funds its financial obligations exclusively from the foundation assets and the income they generate.

Objective

The WWPK insures UZH professors emeriti, and their families and survivors, against the financial consequences of old age, disability, and in the event of death. The foundation may offer benefits which exceed the statutory minimum, and may also provide financial support in hardship cases.

Organization

The Board of Trustees is the most senior body within the WWPK, with responsibility for fulfilling its statutory remit. It is supported by the management of the foundation, which is provided by the Professorships Department on behalf of the Executive Board of the University.

Witwen-, Waisen- und Pensionskasse der Professorinnen und Professoren der UZH (WWPK)

Die WWPK ist die Pensionskasse der Professorinnen und Professoren der UZH, die vor dem 16. April 1989 an die UZH berufen wurden. Diese unterstehen der Verordnung über das Ruhegehalt der Professorinnen und Professoren der UZH (Ruhegehaltsverordnung).

Die WWPK wurde 1901 von Professoren der UZH als Genossenschaft ins Leben gerufen. Seit dem 1. Januar 2013 ist die WWPK eine Stiftung. Seit 1. Februar 2017 ist die WWPK ausserdem eine geschlossene Kasse und finanziert ihre Verpflichtungen ausschliesslich aus dem Stiftungsvermögen und dessen Erträgen.

Zweck

Die WWPK versichert die emeritierten Professorinnen und Professoren der UZH und deren Angehörige und Hinterbliebene gegen die finanziellen Folgen des Alters, bei Invalidität und im Todesfall. Die Stiftung kann über die gesetzlichen Mindestleistungen hinaus weitergehende Vorsorge betreiben und Unterstützungsleistungen in Notlagen erbringen.

Organisation

Der Stiftungsrat ist das oberste Organ der WWPK und trägt die Verantwortung für die Erfüllung der gesetzlichen Aufgaben. Ihm zur Seite steht die Geschäftsführung, die im Auftrag der Universitätsleitung von der Abteilung Professuren wahrgenommen wird.