Entry Formalities

The Professorships Department briefed you on entry formalities and your obligations in this regard as part of your appointment negotiations. We do our best to make the process as easy as possible for you and to handle inquiries or correspondence with the authorities on your behalf.

Therefore, if you have any questions or if there is anything you are unsure about, please first get in touch with your contact in the Professorships Department. 

Please note: You yourself are responsible for registering in person with the responsible body or agency within the set deadline. Details can be found under the two headings given below and in the relevant fact sheets.

EU 28 and EFTA

Citizens of EU 28 and EFTA states must register with the residents’ registry office in their commune of residence – or the relevant district office in the City of Zurich (Kreisbüro) – within 14 days of arriving in Switzerland. Please note the following fact sheet:

Registration requirement for citizens of EU/EFTA states (PDF, 82 KB) (PDF, 82 KB)

Application for a cross-border commuter permit for EU/EFTA citizens (in German) (download)

Third Countries

Citizens from countries outside the EU and EFTA require a permit from the labor market authorities to enter Switzerland and to live and work here. Those who require visas are issued with visa authorization, while those who do not require a visa receive an assurance of a residence permit.

Application for an entry permit (to be completed only if a visa is required) (in German) (download)

Einreiseformalitäten

Im Rahmen der Berufungsverhandlung wurden Sie über die Einreiseformalitäten und Ihre entsprechenden Pflichten durch die Abteilung Professuren informiert. Wir sind bemüht, Ihnen das Verfahren möglichst einfach zu gestalten und Rückfragen oder Korrespondenzen mit Behörden für Sie zu übernehmen.

Bei Unsicherheiten oder Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte deshalb zuerst unbedingt bei Ihrer Ansprechperson in der Abteilung Professuren. 

Bitte beachten Sie: Ihnen obliegt die Pflicht, sich innert der vorgegebenen Fristen bei der zuständigen Stelle persönlichen anzumelden. Details dazu finden in Sie in den folgenden beiden Rubriken bzw. Merkblätter.

EU-28 und EFTA

Staatsangehörige aus einem EU-28- oder EFTA-Staat müssen sich nach ihrer Ankunft in der Schweiz innerhalb von 14 Tagen bei der Einwohnerkontrolle der Wohnsitzgemeinde oder beim zuständigen Kreisbüro in der Stadt Zürich anmelden. Bitte beachten Sie dazu das nachfolgende Merkblatt.

Meldepflicht für Bürgerinnen und Bürger aus EU/EFTA-Staaten (PDF, 82 KB) (PDF, 82 KB)

Gesuch um Grenzgängerbewilligung für EU/EFTA-Staatsangehörige (Download)

Drittstaaten

Staatsangehörige aus Nicht-EU/EFTA-Ländern benötigen für die Einreise, den Aufenthalt und die Erwerbstätigkeit eine von der Arbeitsmarktbehörde bewilligte Zulassung. Dabei erhalten Visumspflichtige eine Visumsermächtigung, Nicht-Visumspflichtige eine Zusicherung der Aufenthaltsbewilligung.

Gesuch um Einreisebewilligung (nur bei Visumspflicht auszufüllen) (Download)