Insurance

In Switzerland, there are few areas of life that you cannot insure. When you move to Switzerland, the most important thing is to know that four types of insurance are compulsory. They are:

  • Health insurance
  • Accident insurance
  • Motor vehicle insurance (if applicable)
  • Building insurance (if applicable)

The following types of insurance are voluntary, but are worth looking into depending on your circumstances and the type of cover you need:

  • Liability insurance
  • Household contents and valuables insurance
  • Supplementary health insurance
  • Voluntary pension plans (e.g. life insurance or a Pillar 3a (personal pension) plan)

Health Insurance

There are two forms of health insurance in Switzerland:

  • Mandatory healthcare insurance (also referred to as basic insurance)
  • Voluntary supplementary insurance (e.g. additional cover for alternative medicine or for additional services in the event of hospitalization)

The benefits paid under mandatory healthcare insurance are laid down in binding form in the Federal Health Insurance Act (KVG), and are the same whichever health insurance provider you choose. The benefits paid under supplementary insurance policies are governed by the Federal Insurance Contract Act (VVG), and vary from provider to provider.

Compulsory Insurance

Each person who comes to live in Switzerland must take out mandatory healthcare insurance within three months of taking up residence. All members of a family, adults and children alike, are insured individually. Individuals who are ordinarily resident abroad but who have a residence permit that is valid for more than three months, or who cross the border to work in Switzerland, must also take out health insurance.

Only a few groups of people may be exempted from this obligation, subject to an application, which is decided by the cantonal department of health.

Free Choice

Insurees have a free choice of health insurance provider for their basic and supplementary insurance. Health insurers are obliged to accept everyone into their basic insurance schemes, regardless of their age or state of health, and without any provisos or waiting periods. Things work differently were supplementary insurance is concerned. Here, health insurance providers can exercise their discretion in deciding who to accept, and who not.

Benefits

In the event of illness, childbirth and – unless a person is already insured by their employer – accidents, health insurers pay certain benefits which are laid down in law. Anyone who works in Switzerland will generally be insured by their employer against work-related and non-work-related accidents. Providing insurance is taken out within the prescribed three-month period, insurance cover will be backdated to the date on which residence in Switzerland began – although that means that premiums are also backdated.

Despite identical benefits, premiums (the contributions that policyholders pay) vary considerably depending on where you live, your age and the insurance model you choose. It is therefore worth comparing premiums.

Accident Insurance

Compulsory accident insurance under the Federal Accident Insurance Act (UVG) is personal insurance which addresses the financial consequences of work-related and non-work-related accidents and occupational illnesses. The benefits it pays out help to make up for the loss that arises if the insurees have an accident or develop a medical condition as the result of their job.

Staff at UZH are covered by compulsory insurance against work-related accidents, and also covered for non-work-related accidents if they work eight or more hours per week.

Versicherungen

Es gibt in der Schweiz kaum einen Lebensbereich, zu dem nicht auch eine Versicherung abgeschlossen werden kann. Bei einem Umzug in die Schweiz ist es vor allem wichtig zu wissen, dass vier der Versicherungen obligatorisch sind. Es sind dies

  • Krankenversicherung
  • Unfallversicherung
  • ggf. Motorfahrzeugversicherung
  • ggf. Gebäudeversicherung

Folgende Versicherungen sind freiwillig (Auswahl), sollten aber je nach Lebenssituation und Schutzbedürfnissen geprüft werden:

  • Haftpflichtversicherung
  • Hausrat- und Wertsachenversicherung
  • Krankenzusatzversicherung
  • Freiwillige Alters- bzw. Selbstvorsorge (z.B. Lebensversicherung oder Säule 3a)

Krankenversicherung

Es bestehen in der Schweiz zwei verschiedene Formen der Krankenversicherung:

  • Obligatorische Krankenpflegeversicherung (auch Grundversicherung genannt)
  • Freiwillige Zusatzversicherungen (z.B. Zusatz für Alternativmedizin oder Spitalzusatz)

Die Leistungen der obligatorischen Grundversicherung sind im Krankenversicherungsgesetz (KVG) verbindlich geregelt und sind für alle Krankenkassen gleich. Die Leistungen der Zusatzversicherungen unterstehen dem Versicherungsvertragsgesetz (VVG) und variieren von Kasse zu Kasse.

Versicherungspflicht

Jede Person, die sich in der Schweiz niederlässt, muss innert drei Monaten nach der Wohnsitznahme in der Schweiz eine obligatorische Krankenpflegeversicherung abschliessen. Alle Mitglieder einer Familie, Erwachsene wie Kinder, werden einzeln versichert. Versicherungspflichtig sind zudem Personen mit Wohnsitz im Ausland, die über eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung von mehr als drei Monaten Gültigkeit verfügen oder Grenzgängerinnen bzw. Grenzgänger sind.

Eine Befreiung von der Krankenversicherungspflicht ist nur für einige wenige Personenkreise auf Gesuch hin möglich. Über Befreiungsgesuche entscheidet die Gesundheitsdirektion.

Freie Wahl

Die Versicherten können den Krankenversicherer für die Grundversicherung und für die Zusatzversicherung frei wählen. Krankenversicherer müssen alle Versicherten in die Grundversicherung aufnehmen, unabhängig von ihrem Alter und Gesundheitszustand und ohne Vorbehalte oder Karenzfristen. Bei der Zusatzversicherung verhält es sich anders: Hier haben die Krankenversicherer freien Spielraum zu entscheiden, wen sie aufnehmen möchten und wen nicht.

Leistungen

Die Krankenversicherung gewährt gesetzlich festgelegte Leistungen bei Krankheit, Mutterschaft und – sofern nicht bereits vom Arbeitgeber versichert – bei Unfällen. Wer in der Schweiz arbeitet, ist in der Regel durch den Arbeitgeber gegen Berufs- und Nichtberufsunfälle versichert. Erfolgt die Anmeldung innerhalb der vorgeschriebenen Frist von drei Monaten, gilt der Versicherungsschutz rückwirkend ab Datum der Wohnsitznahme in der Schweiz, wobei die Prämien ebenfalls rückwirkend zu bezahlen sind.

Trotz identischer Leistungen variieren die Prämien (Beiträge der Versicherungsnehmenden) je nach Wohnort, Alter oder Versicherungsmodell beträchtlich. Aus diesem Grund lohnt sich ein Prämienvergleich.

Unfallversicherung

Die obligatorische Unfallversicherung gemäss Bundesgesetz über die Unfallversicherung (UVG) ist eine Personenversicherung, welche sich mit den wirtschaftlichen Folgen von Berufsunfällen, Nichtberufsunfällen und Berufskrankheiten befasst. Mit ihren Leistungen hilft sie, den Schaden wiedergutzumachen der entsteht, wenn die Versicherten verunfallen oder beruflich erkranken.

Mitarbeitende der UZH sind obligatorisch gegen Berufsunfälle, bei einem Arbeitspensum von 8 Stunden oder mehr pro Woche auch gegen Nichtberufsunfälle versichert.