Tax

The Tax System

The tax system in Switzerland has a federalist structure:

  • The federal government levies tax on income (federal tax),
  • while the cantons and communes levy tax on income and assets (state and communal taxes).

While the rate of federal tax is the same in all cantons, the tax burden represented by state and commune taxes varies between the individual cantons, and between the individual communes within those cantons. Tax is levied once a year,

with the amount calculated on the basis of an annual tax return. The tax that is actually due depends on where you live, your income and assets, your marital status, your religious denomination, and how many children you have.

Tax return

Tax Liability

All natural persons and legal entities (joint-stock companies and cooperatives) that are domiciled in Switzerland are liable to tax. In the case of natural persons, families are taxed together. Individuals who work in Switzerland but do not have a permanent residence (“C”) permit are subject to withholding tax.

Withholding tax

Steuern

Steuersystem

Das Steuersystem in der Schweiz ist föderalistisch strukturiert:

  • Der Bund erhebt Steuern auf das Einkommen (Bundessteuer),
  • die Kantone und Gemeinden erheben Steuern auf das Einkommen und auf das Vermögen (Staats- und Gemeindesteuern).

Während der Steuersatz für die Bundessteuer für alle Kantone gleich hoch ist, variiert die Steuerbelastung bei der Staats- und Gemeindesteuer je nach Kanton und Gemeinde. Die Steuern werden einmal jährlich erhoben.

Zur Berechnung der Steuerhöhe muss jedes Jahr eine Steuererklärung ausgefüllt werden. Die Höhe der zu bezahlenden Steuern ist abhängig von Wohnort, Einkommen und Vermögen, Zivilstand, Konfessionszugehörigkeit oder von der Anzahl Kinder.

Steuererklärung

Steuerpflicht

Steuerpflichtig sind alle natürlichen oder juristischen Personen (Aktiengesellschaften oder Genossenschaften) mit Wohnsitz in der Schweiz. Bei natürlichen Personen werden Familien gemeinsam besteuert. In der Schweiz erwerbstätige Personen ohne Niederlassungsbewilligung sind der Quellensteuer unterstellt.

Quellensteuer