Integration in the Labor Market

The Swiss Economy and Labor Market

Switzerland is one of the most competitive business locations in the world. Its capacity for innovation and technology, political and social stability, outstanding education system, first-class scientific research institutions and strong international networks make Switzerland an important economic and industrial location. Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) play a key role in the Swiss economy: SMEs make up 99% of companies, from bakeries to machine manufacturers to IT start-ups, and account for two-thirds of jobs in Switzerland.

The Zurich Labor Market

The canton of Zurich is the business location of choice for many multinational companies. More than one-fifth of Switzerland's gross domestic product (GDP) is generated here. In addition to the University of Zurich, ETH Zurich and other universities as well as research and development centers (R&D centers) such as Google and IBM, Zurich boasts a broad range of innovative industry clusters. The largest cluster is the financial sector, followed by ICT (information and communication technology), life science and cleantech. Innovative enterprises from the medical sector as well as spin-offs from universities are active in the emerging life science cluster. The Canton of Zurich is part of the Greater Zurich Area.

Languages at work

Language is often the key to finding a job in multicultural Switzerland. Many companies in German-speaking Switzerland require good proficiency in German, even though English is often spoken at work. Job-seekers with a foreign native language can therefore significantly improve their career prospects by acquiring or improving their knowledge of the local language. English is sought after at large companies and in certain professions (management, scientific and commercial professions), but also, first and foremost, to complement strong skills in the local language.

Employment Qualifications

In order to work in Switzerland, it is often necessary to have qualifications and skills acquired abroad recognized. You can find detailed information about the procedure in the Recognition of Foreign Diplomas section.

Job Hunting

Finding a job that meets your needs, skills and experience requires a great deal of personal commitment and patience. Although a large number of jobs are advertised on online job portals, there are also many vacancies that are not published. In many cases, these jobs are filled through personal and local networks.

For a job search to be successful, online research is therefore at least as important as becoming active yourself: Tap into your personal network, register with social business networks (e.g. LinkedIn or XING) or professionalize your profiles, write unsolicited applications, attend professional events or become a member of a professional organization. Larger companies also sometimes offer career return programs. You can find several examples in the «career return program» teaser.

While online job portals show a majority of vacancies, many companies publish their open positions on their own website. Select the companies you are interested in, get an idea of their profile and find the right contact person for your inquiry or unsolicited application.

Public and Private Employment Services

Public and private employment services can also be helpful. At the national level, public job placement in Switzerland is the responsibility of the Labour Directorate of the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO). It is organized by canton, however. In the cantons, the regional job centers (Regionale Arbeitsvermittlungszentren – RAV) help unemployed people and nationals of the European Union (EU) and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) to find a new job.

Private employment agencies in Switzerland require a permit. The list of recognized companies can be found in SECO's «job placement and recruitment» directory (available in German, French or Italian), where you can search by qualification, sector or location. 

Another option is EURES (European Employment Services), a cooperation network of EU/EFTA public recruitment agencies. The aim of EURES is to facilitate the mobility of workers within these countries. On the EURES portal you will find important information about the Swiss labor market, vacancies and points of contact for advice, and you can also upload your CV.

Integration in den Arbeitsmarkt

Wirtschaft und Arbeitsmarkt Schweiz

Die Schweiz ist einer der wettbewerbsfähigsten Wirtschaftsstandorte der Welt. Innovationskraft und Technologie, politische und soziale Stabilität, das hervorragende Bildungssystem, erstklassige wissenschaftliche Forschungseinrichtungen und eine starke internationale Vernetzung zeichnen die Schweiz als bedeutenden Wirtschafts- und Industriestandort aus. Eine entscheidende Rolle für die Schweizer Wirtschaft spielen die kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen (KMU): Von der Bäckerei über den Maschinenhersteller bis zum IT-Start-up bilden KMU 99% der Unternehmen und stellen zwei Drittel der Arbeitsplätze in der Schweiz.

Arbeitsmarkt Zürich

Der Kanton Zürich ist für viele multinationale Unternehmen der Geschäftssitz ihrer Wahl. Mehr als ein Fünftel des Bruttoinlandprodukts (BIP) der Schweiz wird hier erwirtschaftet. Neben der Universität Zürich, der ETH und anderen Hochschulen sowie Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentren (F&E-Zentren) wie Google oder IBM bietet Zürich eine ausgewogene Variation von innovativen Branchen-Clustern. Der grösste Cluster ist die Finanzbranche, gefolgt von ICT (Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie), Life Science und Cleantech. Im aufstrebenden Life Science-Cluster sind sowohl innovative Unternehmen aus dem Medizinalbereich als auch Spin-offs der Hochschulen aktiv. Der Kanton Zürich ist Teil der Greater Zurich Area.

Sprachen bei der Arbeit

In der multikulturellen Schweiz ist die Sprache oft der Schlüssel bei der Arbeitssuche. So setzen viele Unternehmen in der Deutschschweiz gute Deutschkenntnisse voraus, auch wenn am Arbeitsplatz häufig Englisch gesprochen wird. Fremdsprachige Stellensuchende können demnach ihre Berufschancen durch Erwerb bzw. Verbesserung der Kenntnisse der Ortssprache markant verbessern. Englisch ist namentlich in grossen Unternehmen und bei bestimmten Berufsgruppen (Management, wissenschaftliche und kaufmännische Berufe) gefragt, aber auch hier in erster Linie in Ergänzung zu guten Kenntnissen der Ortssprache.

Qualifikation für die Arbeit

Um in der Schweiz arbeiten zu können, wird in vielen Fällen die Anerkennung der im Ausland erworbenen Qualifikationen und Kompetenzen verlangt. Detaillierte Angaben zum Verfahren finden Sie in der Rubrik Anerkennung von Diplomen.

Stellensuche

Eine Stelle zu finden, die den eigenen Bedürfnissen, Kompetenzen und Erfahrungen entspricht, erfordert einen grossen persönlichen Einsatz und Geduld. Stellenangebote im Internet decken zwar einen grossen Teil der offenen Stellen ab, daneben gibt es aber viele Vakanzen, die nicht publiziert werden. Diese Stellen werden in vielen Fällen über persönliche und lokale Netzwerke vergeben.

Für eine erfolgreiche Stellensuche ist es deshalb neben der Onlinerecherche mindestens so wichtig, selber aktiv zu werden: Nutzen Sie Ihr persönliches Netzwerk, registrieren Sie sich bei sozialen Business-Netzwerken (z.B. LinkedIn oder XING) bzw. professionalisieren Sie Ihre Profile, schreiben Sie Initiativbewerbungen, besuchen Sie Fachveranstaltungen oder werden Sie Mitglied in einer Fachorganisation. Gelegentlich bieten grössere Unternehmen auch Career Return Programme an. Einige Beispiele finden sie im Teaser «Career Return Programme».

Während Online-Stellenmärkte einen Grossteil der offenen Stellen abbilden, publizieren viele Unternehmen ihre Stellenangebote auf der firmeneigenen Website. Wählen Sie gezielt die Unternehmen aus, die Sie interessieren, machen Sie sich ein Bild über deren Profil und eruieren Sie eine Ansprechperson, an die Sie Ihre Anfrage oder Ihre Initiativbewerbung richten.

Öffentliche und private Stellenvermittlung

Zielführend kann auch die Nutzung von öffentlichen und privaten Stellenvermittlungen sein. Die öffentliche Arbeitsvermittlung in der Schweiz liegt auf nationaler Ebene in der Verantwortung der Direktion für Arbeit des Staatssekretariats für Wirtschaft (SECO). Sie ist jedoch kantonal organisiert: In den Kantonen unterstützen die Regionalen Arbeitsvermittlungszentren (RAV) Erwerbslose und Staatsangehörige der Europäischen Union (EU) und der Europäischen Freihandelsassoziation (EFTA) bei der Suche nach einer neuen Stelle.

Die private Arbeitsvermittlung ist in der Schweiz bewilligungspflichtig. Die Liste der anerkannten Betriebe finden Sie im Verzeichnis «Arbeitsvermittlung und Personalverleih» des SECO; hier können Sie nach Qualifikation, Branche oder Ort suchen. 

Eine weitere Option ist EURES (European Employment Services), ein Kooperationsnetzwerk der öffentlichen Arbeitsvermittlungen der EU/EFTA-Staaten. Ziel von EURES ist die Erleichterung der Mobilität der Arbeitnehmenden innerhalb dieser Länder. Auf dem EURES-Portal finden Sie wichtige Informationen zum Arbeitsmarkt Schweiz, offene Stellen und Beratungskontakte und Sie können zudem Ihren Lebenslauf hochladen.