dcc

Dual Careers

UZH as an Employer

The University of Zurich (UZH) is Switzerland’s largest university, with a leading position in the European Research Area. In the scope of its professorial appointment procedures, UZH recruits outstanding academics from around the world and offers them first-rate conditions. (Strategic Goals 2020: Strategic Goal 3)

What the Professorships Department Offers

The Professorships Department is committed to ensuring that the partners of newly appointed professors are also able to continue their careers after moving to Switzerland. The needs and concerns of the couples are already addressed during the appointment negotiations and the possibilities and limits of support are clarified at an early stage.

Continuing a professional career in a new environment requires time to build up a new network and to familiarise oneself with the local labour market, curiosity and not least the willingness to learn German. The Professorships Department offers support here by

  • providing orientation on the regional labour market,
  • showing strategies for job search and career development and,
  • providing information on professional organisations an networks.

In addition to career prospects, «soft facts» also play a crucial role in the couples' decision to move, for example, whether both partners can imagine becoming at home at the new location and whether they will find the infrastructure they both need. The decision to move is therefore based on the housing market, the leisure value of the region or factors relevant to the family, such as schools or childcare facilities. You will find helpful information on these and other topics on the webpage «Living in Zurich».

The following offers a good opportunity to establish professional contacts:

International Dual Career Network (IDCN)

Other Services

The UZH/ETH Language Center offers German courses specifically aimed at newly appointed professors from abroad and their partners.

Overview of German as a foreign language courses

Please direct any questions you may have to contact.

dcc

Dual Career

Die UZH als Arbeitgeberin

Die Universität Zürich (UZH) ist die grösste Schweizer Universität und nimmt in der europäischen Forschungslandschaft eine führende Position ein. Sie rekrutiert im Rahmen der Berufungsverfahren hervorragende Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler weltweit und bietet ihnen erstklassige Bedingungen an. (Strategische Ziele 2020: Strategisches Ziel 3)

Angebote der Abteilung Professuren

Die Abteilung Professuren engagiert sich mit Überzeugung für die berufliche Integration der Partnerinnen und Partner von neuberufenen Professorinnen und Professoren nach dem Wechsel in die Schweiz. Bereits im Rahmen der Berufungsverhandlungen werden die Bedürfnisse und Anliegen der Paare thematisiert und frühzeitig die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen der Unterstützung geklärt.

Die Fortsetzung der beruflichen Laufbahn in der neuen Umgebung erfordert Zeit für den Aufbau eines neuen Netzwerks und um sich mit dem lokalen Arbeitsmarkt vertraut zu machen, Neugierde und nicht zuletzt die Bereitschaft, die deutsche Sprache zu erlernen. Die Abteilung Professuren bietet hier Unterstützung, indem sie

  • Orientierung über den regionalen Arbeitsmarkt verschafft,
  • Strategien zur Stellensuche und Karriereentwicklung aufzeigt und
  • Informationen zu Berufsorganisationen und Netzwerken zur Verfügung stellt.

Neben den beruflichen Perspektiven spielen für die Entscheidung der Paare für einen Umzug auch «soft facts» eine ausschlaggebende Rolle, beispielsweise ob sich beide Partner vorstellen können, am neuen Standort heimisch zu werden und ob sie dort die Infrastruktur vorfinden, die sie benötigen. In die Entscheidung für einen Umzug fliessen damit von Fall zu Fall auch der Wohnungsmarkt, der Freizeitwert der Region oder familienrelevante Faktoren wie Schulen oder Kinderbetreuungsangebote ein.  Zu diesen und weiteren Fragen finden Sie hilfreiche Hinweise in der Rubrik «Leben in Zürich».

Eine gute Möglichkeit für den Aufbau des beruflichen Netzwerks bietet das

International Dual Career Network

Weitere Angebote

Das Sprachenzentrum UZH/ETH bietet spezifische Deutschkurse für internationale Neuberufene und ihre Partnerinnen bzw. Partner mit anderer Herkunftssprache an.

Übersicht der Kursangebote Deutsch als Fremdsprache (DaF) (D+EN)

Für Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an Kontakt.