Housing

Housing

Two-thirds of people in Switzerland live in a rented home. When looking for the right apartment for you, it helps enormously to understand how the housing market works.

There is high demand for housing in large urban areas such as Zurich, and rents can vary significantly depending on region and location. As a general rule, there is higher demand for apartments in the city center, so they are more expensive than those in suburban areas. However, the excellent transport network means that even less central locations are easy to reach within a reasonable commuting time.

Real Estate Platforms

Vacant housing – both apartments and houses – is offered primarily via the internet, where specialist agencies run databases offering homes for rent and to buy.

Temporary Furnished Apartments

Anyone looking initially for a temporary furnished apartment can check the website of the UMS (Untermietservice Schweiz) sub-letting service

UZH Housing Service

UZH also has 25 furnished apartments in the City of Zurich, most of which are located close to the University. These can provide a good transitional solution for newly appointed professors or those currently undergoing the professorial appointment procedure.

Further Providers

The majority of newspapers and official gazettes also publish apartment and other property ads. In addition, some communes keep a list of vacant apartments.

Relocation support

Relocation firms offer comprehensive support in the search for a new home, with administrative or organizational matters, with the move and, if desired, with the integration. A list of relocation services based in the Canton of Zurich can be found in the «Further Information» teaser.

Reference Information for People Looking for Apartments

The Professorships Department is happy to provide reference information to landlords and landladies, housing companies and housing agencies. For data protection reasons, however, the professor must give their written authorization for this beforehand.

Should you require this, please let us know in a brief e-mail that you authorize the Professorships Department to provide reference information (in particular in relation to your salary) in connection with your search for an apartment.

housing

Housing

Wohnraum suchen

In der Schweiz leben zwei von drei Personen in einer Mietwohnung. Um eine passende Wohnung zu finden, ist es eine grosse Hilfe, wenn man versteht, wie der Wohnungsmarkt funktioniert.

In städtischen Grossräumen wie Zürich ist Wohnraum sehr begehrt und die Mietpreise variieren stark, je nach Region und Lage. Generell gilt, dass Wohnungen im Zentrum der Stadt stärker nachgefragt und damit teurer sind als in der Agglomeration. Mit dem hervorragend ausgebauten Verkehrsnetz sind jedoch auch dezentralere Standorte gut und in vernünftiger Zeit erreichbar.

Immobilienplattformen

Freier Wohnraum – Wohnungen und Häuser – wird in erster Linie über das Internet angeboten, wo spezialisierte Agenturen Datenbanken mit Miet- und Kaufangeboten führen.

Möblierte Wohnungen auf Zeit

Wer vorerst eine möblierte Wohnung auf Zeit sucht, kann z.B. das Wohnungsangebot des Untermietservice Schweiz (UMS) in Anspruch nehmen.

Wohnungsangebot der UZH

Die UZH verfügt zudem über 25 möblierte Wohnungen in der Stadt Zürich, mehrheitlich im Umkreis der UZH, die neuberufenen oder im Berufungsverfahren stehenden Professorinnen und Professoren eine gute Übergangslösung bieten können.

Weitere Anbieter

Darüber hinaus publizieren auch die meisten Zeitungen und amtlichen Anzeiger Wohnungs- und Immobilienangebote. Zudem führen einige Gemeinden eine Liste mit Leerwohnungen.

Unterstützung bei der Übersiedlung

Relocation-Agenturen bieten umfassende Unterstützung bei der Suche nach geeigneten Wohnobjekten, helfen bei der Abwicklung von Verträgen, dem Umzug und auf Wunsch bei der Integration. Eine Liste der im Kanton Zürich ansässigen Relocation-Firmen finden Sie im Teaser «Weiterführende Informationen».

Referenzauskünfte für Wohnungssuchende

Die Abteilung Professuren ist gerne bereit, Referenzauskünfte an Vermieterinnen und Vermieter, Wohnungsfirmen bzw. Wohnungsvermittlungsdienste zu erteilen. Aus Datenschutzgründen ist jedoch vorgängig die schriftliche Autorisierung durch den Professor bzw. die Professorin erforderlich.

Bitte teilen Sie uns bei Bedarf kurz per E-Mail mit, dass Sie die Abteilung Professuren zur Referenzauskunft (insbesondere Auskünfte zum Lohn) im Zusammenhang mit Ihrer Wohnungssuche autorisieren.